Would You Just Trust Anyone?

2024 4th Sunday of Easter (B)

Today’s psalm is one of the best known among all the psalms. It is often used at funerals: “The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I shall want.” It is almost unusual not to have that psalm at a funeral. What is it that makes it so popular?   One reason must be it’s poetry, the imagery of green pastures, restful waters, reviving my drooping spirit. It is also optimistic. The kind and gentle shepherd guides me along the right path and should I walk in the valley of darkness no evil would I fear. Then those lovely words: ‘Surely goodness and kindness shall follow me all the days of my life.”  These are the kind of words you want to hear when you are at a funeral, when you are feeling sad. Funeral are good opportunities to tell people about God, precisely because mourners are sad and needing some words to lift them up.  No better than the words of psalm 22; today’s psalm. 

In western Europe we are not that familiar with shepherds, yet the image is not lost on us.  We know what a shepherd does, how he or she looks after their sheep.  In today’s readings Christ is compared to a shepherd; we call today “Good Shepherd Sunday”.  We just heard the words, ‘When the shepherd has brought out his flock, he goes ahead of them, and the sheep follow because they know his voice.’ In the middle-east the shepherd doesn’t use dogs or tractors, he walks in front of the sheep and they follow. That’s because the sheep have come to know him, they know they can trust him.  The trust is everything; without it the sheep wouldn’t follow the shepherd. 

I remember many years ago I had a friend who married very early, he and his wife were still teenagers. I used to visit them in their home as they couldn’t afford to go out. They had two children whom I got to know well. When they decided to emigrate to Australia I went with them to the airport. On the way to the departure gate I felt this little hand slip into mine. It was one of the sons. Even though his parents were there he trusted me enough to let me lead him.  It was a simple gesture but one I’ve never forgotten.  We are all called to let God lead us through life, so that should we walk in the valley of darkness we would have no fear.  But as the psalms concludes ‘surely goodness and kindness shall follow me all the days of my life.’  

Then at the end of today’s gospel Jesus says, “I have come so that they may have life and have it to the full.’ Do you believe this?   The honest person would probably say: “I’m not sure”. But if I asked: “Do you want to believe it” I think most people would say “Yes”. 

If you want to live life to the full then let Christ be your good shepherd. Trust him to guide you to pastures fresh and green. Trust him to protect you from all harm. Trust him to lift you up when you are down. The key is trust. If you love someone you will trust them.  God, in Christ, loves you: He will never let you down, all He wants is your happiness. 

Leave a comment